Reflection AI closed a funding round at a $25 billion pre-money valuation in April 2026 — up from $545 million about a year earlier, a jump of nearly 46x. The New York startup, founded in 2024 by two former Google DeepMind researchers, has raised $2.13 billion in disclosed rounds through October 2025, plus an April 2026 round of undisclosed size, and signed a compute deal with SpaceX reportedly worth up to $6.3 billion. It still hasn't shipped the open-weight frontier model it was built to release.
Few AI companies in 2026 illustrate the gap between private-market pricing and product reality as clearly as Reflection AI does. In fourteen months, its valuation moved from just above half a billion dollars to a number that would rank it among the twenty most valuable venture-backed companies in the world — see where it lands on the Unicorn Tracker — even though its public product is a narrow coding tool rather than the superintelligent open model its founders raised the money to build.

Figures compiled from TechCrunch, Bloomberg (via Roic and Yahoo Finance), CNBC, and Forbes reporting between March 2025 and June 2026, plus Bloomberg and TechCrunch on the July 2026 Nebius deal; checked as of September 26, 2026. The $25 billion pre-money valuation was confirmed by CEO Misha Laskin on CNBC on April 23, 2026; the size of that round (reported at about $2.5 billion) has not been confirmed by the company.
Reflection AI Valuation: How a 2024 Startup Got to $25 Billion
Reflection AI's valuation rose from $545 million in March 2025 to $8 billion in October 2025 to $25 billion pre-money in a round that closed in April 2026 — three funding events in about a year, each many times larger than the last. The New York startup was founded in December 2024 by ex-Google DeepMind researchers Misha Laskin and Ioannis Antonoglou.
The two left DeepMind to build what they call an open, American alternative to closed frontier labs. Antonoglou joined DeepMind in 2012 as its 25th employee and became one of the core engineers behind AlphaGo, the system that beat a world Go champion in 2016, later working on AlphaGo Zero, AlphaZero, and MuZero. Laskin came to AI research from a PhD in quantum physics, worked under Pieter Abbeel at UC Berkeley, and then led reward-modeling work for Google's Gemini project. That reinforcement-learning and post-training background is the specific expertise the two are betting can be turned into a full frontier model — the piece of the roadmap Reflection AI has not yet delivered.
Reflection AI's Funding and Deal Timeline
| Date | Event | Amount | Valuation | Key Names |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dec 2024 | Company founded | — | — | Misha Laskin, Ioannis Antonoglou |
| Mar 2025 | Seed + Series A | $130M ($25M + $105M) | $545M | Sequoia Capital, CRV, Lightspeed |
| Jul 2025 | Asimov launches | — | — | First public product: code-comprehension agent |
| Oct 2025 | Series B | $2.0B | $8B | Nvidia (~$800M), Eric Schmidt, Citigroup, 1789 Capital |
| Apr 2026 | Funding round (closed) | ~$2.5B (reported) | $25B pre-money | Nvidia; JPMorgan reportedly in discussions |
| Jun 2026 | SpaceX compute lease | up to $6.3B | n/a — commercial contract | SpaceX Colossus 2, Memphis, Tennessee |
| Jul 2026 | Nebius compute deal | $1B+ | n/a — commercial contract | Nebius; Nvidia GB300 chips through 2029 |
| Sep 2026 | HUMAIN partnership | — | — | Deploy first model in Saudi Arabia after its release later in 2026 |
Sources: TechCrunch, October 9, 2025; Roic News, March 2, 2026; CNBC, June 22, 2026. Round close and pre-money valuation: CNBC, April 23, 2026 (“Reflection CEO confirms latest funding round closed at $25 billion pre-money valuation”), also listed on Reflection's news page. Reports differ on the round size: Sacra puts it at $2.5 billion, while some aggregators cite $2 billion, and the company has not disclosed it. Adding a $2.5 billion round would put total funding near $4.6 billion, but TechCrunch's July 2026 Nebius story said Reflection “has already raised close to $2.6 billion,” so this post counts only the $2.13 billion disclosed through October 2025 and treats the total as unconfirmed. Nebius deal: Bloomberg, July 14, 2026; TechCrunch, July 14, 2026. HUMAIN: PR Newswire via Yahoo Finance, September 1, 2026.
What Reflection AI Actually Builds
Reflection AI's only shipped product as of September 26, 2026 is Asimov, a code-comprehension agent launched in July 2025. Asimov reads a company's source code alongside its documentation, git history, project-management tickets, and internal chat logs, then uses a swarm of smaller "retriever" agents to pull relevant fragments before a larger "combiner" model reasons over them to answer engineering questions. It is a genuinely useful enterprise tool, and it is also a much narrower product than what Reflection AI has publicly said it is building: an open-weight frontier large language model, trained on tens of trillions of tokens with a mixture-of-experts architecture, that the company intends to release with freely available weights while charging enterprises and governments for support, fine-tuning, and deployment. The clearest public timing signal is a September 1, 2026 announcement with HUMAIN, the Saudi PIF-owned AI company, which plans to deploy Reflection's models on its infrastructure “following the release of the first model later this year.” No release date has been given.
That strategy is explicitly framed as a response to DeepSeek, the Hangzhou-based lab whose low-cost open-weight models unsettled US AI companies starting in January 2025. Reflection AI's pitch to investors and to the US government has been that if open-weight frontier models are going to exist and get adopted globally regardless, it is better for an American company to be the one setting the standard than to cede that ground to Chinese labs. That pitch has attracted government and national-security interest specifically — Reflection has reported engagement with the Department of Energy's Genesis Mission and broader Pentagon AI programs — even before the company has released a model that can be benchmarked against DeepSeek's, Mistral's, or Meta's open releases.
The $6.3 Billion SpaceX Compute Deal and the $1 Billion Nebius Deal, Explained
In June 2026, SpaceX signed a multi-year compute lease with Reflection AI that CNBC and Forbes reported could be worth up to $6.3 billion through 2029, structured as payments of roughly $150 million per month. Under the deal, Reflection gets access to Nvidia GB300 chips housed at SpaceX's Colossus 2 data center in Memphis, Tennessee — the same facility cluster Elon Musk's companies have used to train xAI's Grok models. For SpaceX, the arrangement turns excess compute capacity into a new revenue line; for Reflection AI, it secures training infrastructure without the company having to build its own data centers. The headline figure is a ceiling: Reflection pays “$150 million a month starting July 1,” and “following three months, either party can terminate the contract by giving 90 days' notice,” according to The Motley Fool's summary of CNBC's report. Reporting from September 11, 2026 still described the Reflection contract as running from July 2026 through the end of 2029; we found no report of either side ending it.
Three weeks later Reflection added a second supplier. On July 14, 2026, Bloomberg reported that Nebius “agreed to sell more than $1 billion worth of computing power to Reflection AI,” with access to Nvidia GB300 chips through 2029, the same chip model as the SpaceX lease. Nebius was spun out of Russian tech giant Yandex, TechCrunch noted. Spreading training capacity across two providers lowers Reflection's dependence on SpaceX, but it also raises its fixed compute commitments well before it has a flagship model to sell.
The deal sits alongside reports that JPMorgan was considering an investment in Reflection AI's April 2026 round through its Security and Resiliency Initiative, a program aimed at companies the bank considers critical to US economic and national-security infrastructure. Taken together, the SpaceX and Nebius compute deals, the Department of Energy engagement, and the JPMorgan interest describe a company positioning itself less as a consumer AI startup and more as critical infrastructure for the US government's preferred open-model alternative to DeepSeek — a framing that has clearly helped the fundraising, whether or not the underlying model has shipped yet.
How Reflection AI Compares to Other Frontier AI Labs
| Company | HQ | Latest Valuation | Model Weights | Primary Business |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reflection AI | New York, USA | $25B pre-money (Apr 2026) | Open (planned) | Open-weight frontier model + coding agents |
| Mistral AI | Paris, France | ~$23B (2026) | Mixed | Enterprise API + sovereign AI in Europe |
| DeepSeek | Hangzhou, China | ~$71B (mid-2026) | Open | Low-cost open-weight models |
| xAI | Austin/Memphis, USA | $230B standalone | Closed | Grok consumer app + enterprise API |
| Anthropic | San Francisco, USA | ~$965B (2026) | Closed | Claude enterprise API + coding tools |
| OpenAI | San Francisco, USA | $852B (Aug 2026) | Closed | ChatGPT consumer + enterprise API |
Valuations as reported mid-2026: Reflection AI (CNBC, Apr 2026, pre-money), Mistral AI and DeepSeek (Value Add VC reporting, linked below), xAI (company Series E announcement plus SpaceX merger reporting, Jan-Feb 2026), Anthropic and OpenAI (company funding rounds and secondary sales as reported by Bloomberg, CNBC, and Forbes through August 2026). Private valuations fluctuate and are not equivalent to public market caps.
What the headline misses
A $25 billion valuation for a company that has not shipped its core product is unusual even by 2026's AI-funding standards. Reflection AI has not disclosed revenue as of September 2026. Its only commercial product, Asimov, is sold on enterprise contracts that Sacra says “typically range from $15,000 to $25,000 per user annually,” with most customers starting with teams of 5-20 engineers, a revenue base far too small to explain a $25 billion price. This likely means investors are pricing the founders' DeepMind pedigree and the strategic "American open-weight champion" narrative far more heavily than any near-term cash flow, a bet that has been wrong before in AI (several 2024-era open-model startups raised at similar narratives and were later acquired for a fraction of their peak valuations).
There's also a circularity worth flagging: Nvidia is both an investor in Reflection AI and the chip supplier whose hardware Reflection AI needs to train its model, and that same hardware is being leased through a SpaceX facility run by Elon Musk, whose own AI company, xAI, competes in the same broad market. None of that makes the deals improper, but it does mean a meaningful share of Reflection AI's valuation story runs through a small, interconnected group of the same chip maker, the same billionaire's infrastructure, and overlapping venture funds (Sequoia, CRV, and Lightspeed backed both the March 2025 and October 2025 rounds) — a structure that makes the pricing harder to independently verify than a traditional revenue-multiple valuation would be.
Bottom line: Reflection AI's valuation went from $545 million to a reported $25 billion in roughly a year — a run-up built almost entirely on the founders' DeepMind pedigree, a well-timed anti-DeepSeek narrative, and compute deals with SpaceX (up to $6.3 billion) and Nebius (over $1 billion), rather than on a shipped frontier model or meaningful revenue. The company has real backers (Nvidia, Sequoia, Lightspeed, Eric Schmidt) and real government interest, but the actual test of whether $25 billion was a fair price arrives only when Reflection AI releases the open-weight model it has raised billions to build, which, as of September 2026, it says is coming later this year. Track how Reflection AI stacks up against OpenAI, Anthropic, and the rest of the field on the AI Valuations Dashboard.
Latest from the Pulse
Get VC data most people never see
— free to subscribe
Trace's notes on venture, AI and startups, a few times a week. Join 5,000+ subscribers. No spam.
No spam, unsubscribe anytime. Sent via Substack · Privacy · or subscribe on Substack ↗