FundraisingOctober 7, 2026ยท9 min readยทยทLast updated: 2026-10-28

Lambda IPO Status Oct 2026: No S-1 Filed, Reported $14.5B Valuation and $4B Round Before a Planned 2027 Listing

As of October 28, 2026, Lambda is still private and has no public S-1. The Wall Street Journal reported on October 6 that it is raising up to $4 billion at a $14.5 billion pre-money valuation, led by Coatue and Blackstone, in what could be its last private round before a planned 2027 IPO. No close has been announced.

Trace Cohen
Founder & Editor-in-chief, Value Add VC โ€” Angel investor, VC, family office, operator and founder ยท 3x founder (BrandYourself, Launch.it, SPOT) ยท 75 investments
75Investments3xFounder$200M+Funds Tracked

Quick Answer

As of October 28, 2026: Lambda has not gone public and has no public S-1 or draft registration on SEC EDGAR (our check). The Wall Street Journal reported on October 6, 2026 that Lambda is raising up to $4 billion at a $14.5 billion pre-money valuation, led by Coatue and Blackstone, ahead of a planned 2027 IPO (TechCrunch, PYMNTS). No close has been announced; the prior mark was $5.9 billion (WSJ, citing Forge Global estimates).

As of October 28, 2026, Lambda is still private and has no public S-1. The Wall Street Journal reported on October 6 that it is raising up to $4 billion at a $14.5 billion pre-money valuation, in what could be its last private round before a planned 2027 IPO. No close has been announced.

Lambda, the Nvidia-backed AI cloud provider, is raising up to $4 billion in a private round led by Coatue Management and Blackstone at a $14.5 billion pre-money valuation, according to TechCrunch, which cited a Wall Street Journal report published October 6, 2026. TechCrunch describes it as what could be Lambda's last private round before a planned 2027 IPO. PYMNTS, also citing the Journal, reports that the November 2025 round valued Lambda at $5.9 billion post-money, based on Forge Global estimates.

Up to $4B
Not yet closed
Reported round size
$14.5B
~2.5x the $5.9B Nov 2025 mark (our arithmetic)
Pre-money valuation (reported)
Coatue, Blackstone
Lead investors
None
Checked Oct 28, 2026
Public S-1 on EDGAR

Lambda IPO Status: Key Numbers (as of October 28, 2026)

DateEventValuation / AmountSource
Nov 18, 2025Series E of over $1.5B, led by TWG Global (Lambda did not disclose a valuation)$5.9B post-money (reported)Lambda; WSJ citing Forge Global, via PYMNTS
Aug 25, 2026Bloomberg: talks for up to $3B in pre-IPO financing$12B or more (reported)Bloomberg, via The Next Web
Sep 2026Backlog in a Lambda investor letter reviewed by the WSJ (from $15B in June), much of it a $35B Anthropic commitment$50B backlog (reported)TechCrunch
Oct 6, 2026WSJ: raising up to $4B, led by Coatue and Blackstone; planned 2027 IPO$14.5B pre-money (reported)TechCrunch; PYMNTS
If fully raised$14.5B pre-money plus up to $4B of new money~$18.5B post-money (our arithmetic)โ€”
Oct 28, 2026No public Lambda S-1, S-1/A or draft registration on SEC EDGAR; Lambda, Inc. (CIK 1954966) shows only Form D notices (2022, 2024). No report of the round closing (own check)โ€”SEC EDGAR

A confidential draft registration would not appear on EDGAR until made public. PitchBook data cited by TechCrunch puts the November 2025 post-money at $5.43B rather than $5.9B; Lambda has not disclosed either figure.

Updated Oct 28, 2026

Rechecked October 28, 2026: we found no report that the up-to-$4 billion round has closed, and SEC EDGAR shows no public Lambda S-1. We corrected the lead-investor attribution of the 2026 debt deals (the August term loan B was led by Morgan Stanley; the October fixed-rate loan by J.P. Morgan), added the May 2026 credit facility Lambda references, attributed the $5.9 billion Series E mark to the WSJ's Forge Global estimates, and removed a CoreWeave market-cap figure and peer valuations we could not re-verify.

Lambda IPO Status Oct 2026: No S-1. Reported round size: Up to $4B (as of October 2026). Value Add VC card by Trace Cohen

Lambda IPO Timeline: From GPU Landlord to a Reported $14.5B Pre-IPO Mark

Lambda's planned IPO has already slipped once: per TechCrunch, the company was meant to debut in 2026 but pushed that back amid market uncertainty. Since its February 2025 Series D, Lambda has raised two equity rounds and several large debt financings, and its reported valuation has climbed with each equity round.

DateEventAmountValuation
Feb 19, 2025Series D (co-led by Andra Capital, SGW)$480M~$2.5B (reported)
Nov 18, 2025Series E (led by TWG Global)$1.5B+$5.9B (reported)
May 2026Senior secured credit facility (referenced by Lambda)$1Bโ€”
Aug 27, 2026Term loan B closed (Morgan Stanley lead left; Moody's Baa2)$926Mโ€”
Aug 28, 2026Reported short-dated debt arranged by JPMorgan to buy chips leased to Microsoft (Bloomberg)$1Bโ€”
Oct 1, 2026Fixed-rate delayed-draw term loan (J.P. Morgan)$1.008Bโ€”
Oct 6, 2026Reported pre-IPO round (Coatue, Blackstone); not yet closedUp to $4B$14.5B (pre-money, reported)

Sources: Verdict (citing SiliconANGLE for the Series D valuation) and BusinessWire on the February 2025 Series D; Lambda on the November 2025 Series E, with the valuation per the WSJ citing Forge Global (PYMNTS); Lambda on the term loan B and the May 2026 facility; TechCrunch on the August 2026 JPMorgan-arranged debt, citing Bloomberg; Lambda's own announcement of the October 2026 fixed-rate financing; TechCrunch on the October 2026 pre-IPO round. Reported debt deals may overlap; Lambda has not tied the August JPMorgan report to a specific announcement.

Lambda's Reported Valuation, Feb 2025โ€“Oct 2026

A roughly 6x climb in 20 months, from a ~$2.5B Series D to a reported $14.5B pre-money mark (our arithmetic)

Verdict/SiliconANGLE (Series D), WSJ citing Forge Global via PYMNTS (Series E), and TechCrunch citing the WSJ (October 2026). All three valuations are reported, not disclosed by Lambda.

Data
Lambda's Reported Valuation, Feb 2025โ€“Oct 2026
ItemValuation ($B)
Feb 20252.5
Nov 20255.9
Oct 202614.5
Lambda's Reported Valuation, Feb 2025โ€“Oct 2026: A roughly 6x climb in 20 months, from a ~$2.5B Series D to a reported $14.5B pre-money mark (our arithmetic)

Why Lambda Needs Private Capital Before It Can Go Public

Lambda's business model, buying Nvidia GPUs and leasing the capacity to customers on multiyear contracts, is capital-intensive before it's profitable, which is why the company has stacked debt and equity raises back to back rather than waiting for a single large round. A Lambda investor letter reviewed by the Wall Street Journal shows its backlog grew from $15 billion in June 2026 to $50 billion in September 2026, and TechCrunch reports that much of that increase appears to come from a $35 billion commitment from Anthropic. Bloomberg reported that the $1 billion of JPMorgan-arranged debt in August was to buy Nvidia chips to lease to Microsoft (via TechCrunch); Lambda's October financing release describes the backing as contracted cash flows from two unnamed hyperscale customers.

That backlog growth is the real story behind the valuation jump. A contracted backlog gives lenders and equity investors something concrete to underwrite, which is also why Lambda has been able to raise debt with investment-grade ratings: its August 2026 term loan B carried a Baa2 from Moody's, and its October 2026 fixed-rate financing an A (low) from Morningstar DBRS and a Baa1 from Moody's, according to Lambda.

Why Blackstone and Coatue, Not Just Venture Funds

Blackstone and Coatue Management leading this round is itself a signal about how late-stage AI infrastructure gets financed in 2026. Blackstone is a private-equity firm, not a venture fund, and it has been increasingly active in AI data center deals. Coatue, a crossover fund, has leaned into pre-IPO AI infrastructure bets across its portfolio. Neither firm typically writes a check expecting to wait a decade for a venture-style exit; both are pricing Lambda as a company close enough to a public listing that a 2027 IPO is a real, modelable outcome rather than a distant hope.

That investor mix also explains the debt-heavy capital stack. Private equity and crossover funds are comfortable layering investment-grade-rated debt underneath an equity round when there's a contracted backlog to point to, which is what Lambda did through 2026: a $1 billion credit facility in May, a $926 million term loan B led by Morgan Stanley in August, and a $1.008 billion fixed-rate loan arranged by J.P. Morgan in October, per Lambda. Each was framed as deployment capital tied to GPUs matched to committed customer contracts, not speculative capacity.

What the headline misses

A $14.5 billion pre-money mark for a company that has never disclosed audited revenue or profitability is a bet on contracted backlog translating into cash flow, not a confirmed financial picture. Lambda's 2026 debt financings have gone toward buying GPUs for committed customer deployments, which means the company is scaling capacity ahead of proving it can collect on those leases at the margins investors are pricing in. TechCrunch notes the valuation could be leaning heavily on Anthropic's ability to keep paying.

CoreWeave is the cautionary comp worth watching: its post-IPO stock has swung sharply as public investors re-rate neocloud economics in real time, something private valuations don't have to absorb immediately. If Lambda's 2027 IPO lands in a weaker market for AI infrastructure stocks, the $14.5 billion pre-money mark could look aggressive in hindsight.

What to Watch Before the 2027 Listing

Whether this reported $4 billion round actually closes at a $14.5 billion pre-money valuation, and whether a Lambda S-1 appears on SEC EDGAR with audited revenue and margin figures, are the two concrete signals that would confirm or undercut the IPO timeline. Also worth watching: whether Lambda's GPU-lease contracts with its largest customers carry minimum-commitment clauses that survive a renegotiation if either customer's own AI spending slows. That's the detail separating a durable neocloud from one riding a single customer's capex cycle.

Track private AI infrastructure valuations on the AI Valuations dashboard at Value Add VC.

Get VC data most people never see

โ€” free to subscribe

Trace's notes on venture, AI and startups, a few times a week. Join 5,000+ subscribers. No spam.

No spam, unsubscribe anytime. Sent via Substack ยท Privacy ยท or subscribe on Substack โ†—

Add Value Add VC as a preferred source on Google

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Lambda having an IPO?

Not yet. As of October 28, 2026, Lambda is private and has not filed a public S-1. According to TechCrunch's October 6, 2026 summary of a Wall Street Journal report, Lambda is planning a 2027 IPO after it was meant to debut in 2026 and pushed that back amid market uncertainty. PYMNTS, also citing the WSJ, says management aims to launch in 2027, subject to execution and market conditions. No exchange, ticker, or price range has been reported.

Has Lambda filed an S-1 for its IPO?

No public filing as of October 28, 2026. An SEC EDGAR check that day found no S-1, S-1/A, or public draft registration statement from Lambda; the company's EDGAR entity (Lambda, Inc., CIK 1954966) shows only Form D private-offering notices from 2022 and 2024. A confidential draft registration would not appear on EDGAR until the company makes it public, so a private submission cannot be ruled out, but none has been reported.

What is Lambda's valuation in 2026?

As of October 28, 2026, the latest reported figure is $14.5 billion pre-money: the Wall Street Journal reported on October 6, 2026 that Lambda is raising up to $4 billion at that valuation, led by Coatue Management and Blackstone (TechCrunch). The round had not been reported as closed. If the full $4 billion is raised, the post-money value would be about $18.5 billion (our arithmetic). In August 2026, Bloomberg had reported talks for up to $3 billion at $12 billion or more (via The Next Web).

What was Lambda's valuation before the $4 billion round?

Lambda never disclosed it. As of October 28, 2026, the Wall Street Journal, citing Forge Global estimates, puts the November 2025 Series E at $5.9 billion post-money (per PYMNTS), while PitchBook data cited by TechCrunch puts it at $5.43 billion. Lambda's own announcement confirms only that it raised over $1.5 billion, led by TWG Global. The February 2025 Series D of $480 million valued Lambda at about $2.5 billion, according to SiliconANGLE (via Verdict).

Who is investing in Lambda's $4 billion round?

Coatue Management and Blackstone are leading the reported round of up to $4 billion, according to TechCrunch's October 6, 2026 summary of the Wall Street Journal report; as of October 28, 2026 no close or final investor list has been announced. Lambda's November 2025 Series E was led by TWG Global, a holding company led by Thomas Tull and Mark Walter, with Tull's fund USIT and existing investors participating, per Lambda. The February 2025 Series D was co-led by Andra Capital and SGW, with Nvidia, Andrej Karpathy and ARK Invest among new investors (Verdict).

What does Lambda do?

Lambda (formerly known as Lambda Labs) is an Nvidia-backed AI cloud provider, or neocloud, that buys GPU servers and rents the compute to customers. A Lambda investor letter reviewed by the Wall Street Journal shows its backlog grew from $15 billion in June 2026 to $50 billion in September 2026, with much of that increase from a $35 billion commitment from Anthropic (TechCrunch). Lambda has funded GPU purchases with debt, including a $926 million term loan B closed August 27, 2026 and a $1.008 billion fixed-rate term loan announced October 1, 2026, per Lambda.

How does Lambda compare to CoreWeave?

Both rent Nvidia GPU capacity under multiyear contracts, but CoreWeave is already public and Lambda, as of October 28, 2026, is private with no public S-1. That makes CoreWeave's stock the clearest public-market signal for how investors price leased-GPU-fleet economics, the same model Lambda is built on. Lambda's reported $14.5 billion pre-money valuation is a private-round figure from press reports, not a market price.

Explore 45+ free VC tools, dashboards, and recommended startup software.