VC & InvestingAugust 13, 2026·12 min read··Last updated: 2026-09-26

RVII vs RVI — Robinhood Ventures Fund II Guide

RVII is Robinhood's second retail venture fund — an NYSE-listed closed-end fund built around roughly 80 Y Combinator-linked startups instead of RVI's concentrated Databricks/OpenAI bets. This is the living rundown of every confirmed fact, everything still undisclosed, and the Fund I premium lesson that should shape how you approach it.

TC
Trace Cohen
Founder, Value Add Holdings LLC · 3x founder (BrandYourself, Launch.it, SPOT) · 65+ investments · Based in Boca Raton, FL
65+Investments3xFounder$200M+Funds Tracked

Quick Answer

RVII priced at $25/share and began trading on the NYSE August 13, 2026, raising $200M for a $225.5M fund. It closed at $22.11 on September 25, about 12% below its IPO price, and has never closed above $25. It holds 80 Y Combinator-linked companies near-equally weighted (Tasklet largest at 4.50%, as of July 15), with 4.08% estimated annual expenses. Post-IPO NAV is not yet disclosed. RVI closed as high as $73.71 on May 13, roughly 3x its NAV.

Robinhood Ventures Fund II — ticker RVII — priced at $25 a share and began trading on the NYSE on August 13, 2026, holding 80 Y Combinator-connected startups behind a 2-and-20 fee structure. It opened its first session at $22.50, a discount to that IPO price, and six weeks in it is still below it: RVII closed at $22.11 on September 25, 2026, about 12% under $25 (Yahoo Finance). We've already broken down all 80 companies, position by position, on our interactive RVII dashboard. What's still not disclosed matters just as much: no post-IPO NAV, no distribution policy, and no regulatory holdings report yet. This page tracks both columns — and it gets updated as details drop.

We've covered Robinhood's first venture fund since it listed in March — the holdings, the NAV math, and above all the premium that peaked at roughly 3x NAV and then collapsed. Fund II is a genuinely different product wearing the same wrapper, and the single most useful thing you can do before buying it is understand what happened to Fund I. That story is below, with real prices.

Aug 13, 2026
NYSE Debut
$22.11
-11.6% vs $25 IPO price
Close, Sept 25, 2026
80
YC-linked, early/growth stage
Portfolio Companies
4.08%
2.00% base fee + other costs; 20% incentive fee on top
Est. Total Expenses

Figures from Robinhood's August 3, 2026 announcement, the final prospectus (424B1, filed August 13, 2026), and Yahoo Finance daily closes.

Stock exchange trading floor imagery representing Robinhood Ventures Fund II's NYSE listing

What Is Robinhood Ventures Fund II?

RVII is a closed-end business development company registered under the Investment Company Act of 1940 — the same legal wrapper as RVI, and the only structure the SEC permits for a retail-accessible fund holding mostly illiquid private securities. Robinhood announced it August 3, 2026, filed a Form N-2 to offer 8 million common shares, and ran a share-request window for Robinhood Financial customers and TradePMR Fusion advisers that closed August 12 — one day before the NYSE debut. The IPO priced at $25/share on August 13, raising $200 million toward a $225.5 million total fund, and closed August 14.

The mandate is what makes it interesting: instead of chasing the biggest names in the late-stage private market, RVII invests in a diversified portfolio of 80 early-stage companies that are current or former Y Combinator participants, or whose founder or co-founder came through the accelerator. It's closer to buying a slice of YC's pipeline than to buying a stake in any single marquee company — and its prospectus reserves the right to layer leverage on top, borrowing up to 66 2/3% of total assets, which would amplify whatever that basket does in both directions.

Confirmed Facts vs. What's Still Undisclosed

Here is every material fact about RVII, labeled honestly. "Confirmed" means it comes from Robinhood's announcement, the registration statement, or the completed IPO itself; "expected" means an estimate still pending actual reporting; "not disclosed" means exactly that — and we'll fill those rows in as the filings land.

DetailWhat We KnowStatus
Ticker / exchangeRVII on the NYSEConfirmed
First trading dayAugust 13, 2026Confirmed
IPO price / first-day open$25.00/share priced; opened at $22.50Confirmed
Latest close$22.11 on Sept 25, 2026 (-11.6% vs IPO); highest close $25.00Confirmed
StructureClosed-end BDC (1940 Act)Confirmed
Shares offered / fund size8M shares, $225.5M total fundConfirmed
Over-allotment optionUp to 1.2M extra shares (fund up to $255.5M); exercise not announcedNot disclosed
Holdings snapshot dateJuly 15, 2026 (Robinhood); no N-PORT filed yetConfirmed
Mandate80 early-stage companies, 100% YC-connectedConfirmed
Largest positionTasklet — 4.50% (only overweight)Confirmed
Standard weight~1.12% each (78 of 80 companies)Confirmed
Cash & equivalents7.39% (vs Fund I's 32.28%)Confirmed
Top sectorTechnology — 64.31% across 55 companiesConfirmed
Base management fee2.00% of net assetsConfirmed
Incentive fee20% of realized capital gainsConfirmed
Est. total annual expenses4.08% (final prospectus, Aug 13); plus 4.50% sales load at IPOExpected
LeverageMay borrow up to 66 2/3% of total assets; fee table assumes nonePermitted, not reported used
NAV since IPO— (last reported: $24.14/share at Mar 31, 2026, pre-IPO seed)Not disclosed
Distribution / dividend policy—Not disclosed

Sources: Robinhood August 3, 2026 announcement (GlobeNewswire), Robinhood's August 13 pricing release, the final prospectus on SEC EDGAR, Robinhood's RVII page (allocation as of July 15, 2026), Yahoo Finance daily closes through September 25, 2026, and our own filing analysis on the RVII dashboard. Rows marked "not disclosed" will be updated as filings publish.

What RVII Holds: 80 Companies, Near-Equal Weights, 100% YC

We went through the disclosed portfolio company by company — the full interactive breakdown of all 80 names, with descriptions, lives on our RVII dashboard. The allocation is the one Robinhood publishes as of July 15, 2026. RVII hasn't filed an N-PORT or shareholder report since listing, so that is still the most recent disclosed breakdown. The headline findings: every single holding passes the YC filter (current YC company or YC-alum founder), and the weighting is almost mechanical. 78 of the 80 companies sit at a standard ~1.12% weight. The only overweight is Tasklet, a cloud agent OS, at 4.50%. That lines up with the prospectus, which lists a $1,000,000 SAFE in Tasklet maker Shortwave Communications against $250,000 for most names. The only underweight is Luel at 0.45%, a $100,000 SAFE. Cash and equivalents are 7.39% — well below Fund I's 32.28% cash drag (money-market position in its June 30 N-PORT).

By sector, this is overwhelmingly a technology fund: 64.31% of the portfolio across 55 companies. Industrials (8.96%, including defense names like Tenet Industries' strike drones and Apollo Atomics' compact nuclear reactors) come second, then financial services (7.84%), healthcare (6.72%, including CellType's AI drug discovery), consumer cyclical, energy, and communications. The near-equal weighting is the tell for how to think about this fund: nobody is picking winners here. It's a systematic bet that YC's ~1.5% acceptance rate is itself the selection mechanism — a venture index fund on the accelerator's pipeline, not a portfolio manager's conviction list.

64.31%

Technology

55 companies

8.96%

Industrials

8 companies

7.84%

Financial Services

7 companies

6.72%

Healthcare

6 companies

7.39%

Cash

vs 32.28% in Fund I

2.24%

Consumer Cyclical

2 companies

1.12%

Energy

1 company

1.12%

Communications

1 company

Full interactive breakdown of all 80 companies →

How RVII Differs From RVI

Same wrapper, same $25 sticker, nearly opposite bet. RVI concentrated its book in a handful of late-stage names — Databricks, OpenAI, Mercor and Revolut lead the June 30, 2026 N-PORT disclosure, while its SpaceX stake, bought in the June IPO, was just 1.25% of net assets. Since that disclosure, RVI's largest named position has repriced higher in private markets: Databricks closed a $5B round at a $190B valuation on August 13, a change RVI's disclosed weights don't yet reflect, while OpenAI's $852B valuation, set in its March 2026 round, held flat in an August employee tender. RVII spreads capital across 80 companies that are years from any IPO, which changes almost every property of the investment:

Concentration → Diversification

A single Databricks or OpenAI repricing moves RVI's NAV materially. In RVII, no single startup is likely to matter much — you're betting on the YC pipeline's aggregate hit rate, not on any one company's outcome.

Late-stage → Early-stage

RVI's holdings were IPO-ready mega-caps with real secondary-market price discovery. RVII's early-stage positions get marked off far thinner data — meaning NAV is more of an estimate, and stays that way longer.

~2.5% → ~4.08% expenses

Identical 2% headline fee, but RVII's smaller asset base spreads fixed costs thinner, and its estimate includes a 0.80% repayment to Robinhood, pushing estimated total expenses well above RVI's. RVII's 20% incentive fee on realized gains comes on top of that estimate.

Scarcity thesis → Pipeline thesis

RVI's premium was built on scarcity: a rare liquid way to own OpenAI and Databricks. That premium proved temporary. RVII's thesis — access to YC's deal flow — doesn't expire the same way, but it also lacks the marquee names that made retail chase RVI to $73.71.

For the deeper side-by-side — fee tables, share counts, stage focus — see our full RVII vs RVI breakdown and our Pulse deep-dive on the RVII IPO published when the fund was announced.

The RVI Lesson: A 3x-NAV Peak, Round-Tripped by July

If you read one section on this page before buying RVII, make it this one. RVI priced its IPO at $25.00 and began trading March 6, 2026, closing its first session at $21.00. It then ran far above NAV: RVI closed as high as $73.71 on May 13, roughly 3x its $24.05 NAV at March 31 (per the N-CSR). Buyers at the top were paying about $3 for every $1.00 of underlying holdings, on the theory that being a rare liquid path to OpenAI and Databricks justified it.

Then the premium unwound. SpaceX listed on Nasdaq June 12 (RVI took a $6.75M IPO allocation, 1.25% of net assets at June 30), and the premium kept unwinding week after week: $35 by mid-June, $26 by mid-July, and $24.81 by the end of July, back below the March listing price. Anyone who bought the May peak was down more than 50% while the fund's reported net assets actually rose, from $655.3M at March 31 to $681.8M at June 30. The bounce to $28.64 by August 12 came only after Robinhood announced RVII, By August 27 it had settled back to $27.77, and it closed at $27.92 on September 25 (Yahoo Finance), a reminder that these funds trade on narrative as much as NAV.

The mechanism is structural, not a fluke. Closed-end funds have a fixed share count and no arbitrage keeping price near NAV, so the price is purely what the marginal retail buyer will pay. When enthusiasm exceeds float, you get triple-digit premiums; when the story fades, you get NAV or below — the median closed-end fund trades at a discount. We documented this dynamic in real time across the premium explainer, the premium/discount history, and the discount-history tracker. RVII inherits the exact same structure on day one.

Should You Wait for RVII or Buy RVI?

Honest answer: they're different enough that "which one" is the wrong frame — the real question is what exposure you actually want, and at what price relative to NAV.

RVI makes more sense if you:

  • Want exposure to named, knowable companies — you can read exactly what it holds and check the marks yourself
  • Prefer the cheaper fee load (~2.5% gross vs 4.08% estimated for RVII)
  • Can buy much closer to NAV than at the May peak. RVI closed at $27.92 on September 25 against its $25.02 NAV as of June 30 (per Robinhood), a ~12% premium versus roughly 200% over the March 31 NAV at the May 13 peak
  • Accept that the remaining thesis shrinks as each holding goes public

RVII makes more sense if you:

  • Want genuinely early-stage venture exposure — the kind retail has never had a listed wrapper for
  • Believe in YC's aggregate pipeline more than in any single company
  • Accept a heavier fee drag, potential leverage, and marks that are estimates for years
  • Are disciplined enough to wait for the price to settle near NAV instead of chasing the open

And one rule applies to both: the premium you pay at entry matters more than the portfolio. RVI proved that NAV can rise while shareholders lose half their money, purely from premium compression. If RVII opens hot, the RVI chart above is what the other side of that trade looks like. Our five-question premium framework was written for RVI, but every question transfers directly to RVII — as does the step-by-step buying mechanics guide and the closed-end fund tax treatment.

The Complete RVI & RVII Coverage Library

We've tracked the Robinhood Ventures funds since Fund I listed. Everything below is kept current:

RVII is the broader, earlier, more expensive sequel to a fund whose defining event was a premium that appeared and vanished inside five months.

The confirmed facts fit in one table. The undisclosed ones — NAV, distributions — are what will actually determine whether $25 is a fair price. We'll update this page as each one lands.

This is a living page — last updated September 26, 2026, six weeks into RVII's NYSE trading. Track Fund I's NAV and premium on the Robinhood RVI Fund dashboard, and follow ongoing coverage on Value Add Pulse. Originally covered in the Trace Cohen newsletter.

Get VC data most people never see

— 100% free

Weekly benchmarks, valuations, and fund data. Join 5,000+ investors. No spam.

Frequently Asked Questions

When does RVII launch?

RVII priced its IPO at $25 per share and began trading on the NYSE on August 13, 2026, per Robinhood's pricing announcement. The share-request window for Robinhood customers and TradePMR Fusion advisers closed August 12. After the listing, anyone can buy RVII shares through any brokerage that trades NYSE-listed securities — no Robinhood account or accreditation required.

What will RVII hold?

RVII holds 80 early-stage private companies, all connected to Y Combinator — current batch participants, YC alumni companies, or startups founded by YC alumni. Per the fund's filing, 78 of the 80 sit at a near-equal ~1.12% weight; the only overweight is Tasklet (cloud agent OS) at 4.50%, and the only underweight is Luel at 0.45%, with 7.39% in cash. Notable names include Apollo Atomics (compact nuclear reactors), CellType (AI drug discovery), Tenet Industries (strike drones), and Klaimee (insurance for AI agents). We break down all 80 companies with descriptions on our interactive RVII dashboard at /robinhood-ventures-fund-2.

How is RVII different from RVI?

RVI is a concentrated late-stage bet — as of the June 30, 2026 disclosure (still the most recent available) its largest named positions are Databricks (12.71%), OpenAI (11.00%), Mercor (7.84%) and Revolut (7.31%), with 32.28% in a money-market fund. Databricks has since repriced ($5B round at a $190B valuation on August 13), a change not yet reflected in RVI's disclosed weights since no newer NPORT filing has published; OpenAI's $852B valuation, set in its March 2026 round, held flat in an August employee tender. RVII is the opposite of RVI's concentration: breadth over 80 much earlier-stage YC-linked companies, none of which is likely to dominate the portfolio the way Databricks and OpenAI do for RVI. RVII also carries a heavier expense load (4.08% estimated total annual expenses in its final prospectus vs ~2.5% gross for RVI), and its prospectus reserves the right to borrow up to 66 2/3% of total assets, though the fee estimate assumes no borrowing.

What is RVII's ticker and exchange?

RVII trades under the ticker symbol RVII on the New York Stock Exchange — the same exchange as RVI. It's a closed-end business development company regulated under the Investment Company Act of 1940, not an ETF, which means a fixed share count and no mechanism forcing the market price to track NAV.

What are RVII's fees?

RVII charges a 2.00% annual base management fee on net assets plus a 20% incentive fee on realized capital gains — a hedge-fund-style 2-and-20 structure. The final prospectus filed August 13 estimates total annual expenses at 4.08% of net assets: the 2.00% base fee, 1.97% of other expenses (including a 0.80% repayment to Robinhood) and 0.11% of acquired fund fees. The incentive fee is not included in that estimate. IPO buyers also paid a 4.50% sales load. That's well above RVI's blended cost and orders of magnitude above a passive index fund.

Will RVII trade at a premium to NAV like RVI did?

So far, no. RVII opened its first session at $22.50, below its $25 IPO price. Six weeks in, it closed at $22.11 on September 25, 2026, about 12% below the IPO price. Its best close has been exactly $25.00, on September 4 and September 8, and it has never closed above its IPO price. That is the opposite of RVI's premium spike. RVII hasn't reported a post-IPO NAV, so the discount to NAV can't be measured precisely. Its last reported NAV was $24.14 per share at March 31, 2026, on 500,000 pre-IPO seed shares. The direction is clear, though: buyers are not chasing this listing the way they chased RVI in March.

Explore 45+ free VC tools, dashboards, and recommended startup software.

Get VC data most people never see

Weekly benchmarks & analysis. Join 5,000+ investors.