VC & InvestingSeptember 12, 2026ยท10 min readยท

Motive's $1.3B Raise: Why the Fleet-Management AI Company Pulled Its IPO at $600M ARR

General Catalyst committed over $1.3 billion to Motive on September 9, 2026, the same day the fleet-AI company withdrew its NYSE-bound S-1 filing.

TC
Trace Cohen
Founder, Value Add Holdings LLC ยท 3x founder (BrandYourself, Launch.it, SPOT) ยท 65+ investments ยท Based in Boca Raton, FL
65+Investments3xFounder$200M+Funds Tracked

Quick Answer

$1.3 billion is what Motive raised from General Catalyst on September 9, 2026, the same day it withdrew its S-1 and shelved its IPO. Motive's ARR crossed $600 million, growth accelerated to roughly 30% year-over-year, and no new valuation was disclosed beyond the $2.85 billion mark set back in 2022.

$1.3 billion is what Motive just raised from General Catalyst โ€” and it used the same announcement to withdraw the S-1 it had filed for a New York Stock Exchange IPO, choosing to stay private at more than $600 million in annual recurring revenue instead.

Motive, the AI-driven fleet and physical-operations software company formerly known as KeepTruckin, had been on a path toward a public listing since filing its S-1 on December 23, 2025. On September 9, 2026, that path reversed: General Catalyst's Customer Value Fund committed more than $1.3 billion in growth financing, and Motive pulled its registration statement rather than proceed toward trading under the ticker MTVE.

Motive's $1.3B Raise: Why the Fleet-Management AI Company Pulled Its IPO at $600M ARR
$1.3B
led by General Catalyst CVF
Growth financing, Sept 9, 2026
$600M+
up from $501M at S-1 (Sept 2025)
ARR crossed
~30%
accelerated from 27% YoY
ARR growth rate
$2.85B
from May 2022 โ€” not reconfirmed
Last known valuation

Figures blended from FreightWaves, TechFundingNews, and Motive's SEC S-1 filing, December 2025-September 2026.

Motive funding: what actually happened on September 9, 2026

Motive secured more than $1.3 billion in growth financing from General Catalyst's Customer Value Fund and simultaneously withdrew the S-1 registration statement it filed on December 23, 2025 for a proposed NYSE listing under the ticker MTVE, according to FreightWaves and TechFundingNews.

The structure matters: this was not a traditional priced equity round. General Catalyst's Customer Value Fund is a growth-capital vehicle that lends against sales-and-marketing spend, with repayment tied to the value of the customers those dollars help sign, rather than a straightforward preferred-stock issuance at a set price per share. That is the likely reason Motive did not publish a new headline valuation alongside the $1.3 billion figure โ€” this type of financing does not necessarily require one the way a priced Series G would. Pranav Singhvi, a General Catalyst managing director, joined Motive's board as part of the deal, per CryptoBriefing.

Motive said the capital would fund additional AI investment across its platform and expand its sales, support, and service teams, according to FinSMEs. CEO Shoaib Makani has said the company remains positioned to pursue a public listing at a later date, framing the withdrawal as deferral rather than abandonment.

Inside Motive's S-1: the numbers behind the withdrawn IPO

Motive's December 23, 2025 S-1, filed with the SEC, disclosed annual recurring revenue of $501 million as of September 30, 2025, growing 27% year-over-year, and revenue of $327.3 million for the nine months ended that date, up 22% year-over-year, at a 70% gross margin. The company reported 9,201 core customers paying more than $7,500 in annual recurring revenue at 110% net revenue retention, plus 494 large customers spending more than $100,000 annually โ€” up 58% year-over-year โ€” at 126% net revenue retention among that cohort, per analysis of the filing by Tomasz Tunguz.

By the time of the September 2026 financing, Motive reported ARR had crossed $600 million with growth accelerating to roughly 30% year-over-year โ€” both the absolute number and the growth rate moved in Motive's favor in the eleven months since the S-1 was filed, per FreightWaves. J.P. Morgan, Citigroup, Barclays, and Jefferies had been lined up as lead underwriters for the now-withdrawn offering.

Motive's full funding history, from KeepTruckin to $1.3 billion

Motive was founded in 2013 as KeepTruckin by Shoaib Makani, Ryan Johns, and Obaid Khan, starting with a $2.3 million seed round led by Google Ventures. The company rebranded from KeepTruckin to Motive in 2022 as it expanded beyond electronic logging devices into a broader AI-powered operations platform now used by more than 120,000 businesses across trucking, construction, field service, agriculture, and utilities, according to Motive's own company blog.

RoundDateAmount / ValuationLead investors
Seed (as KeepTruckin)2013$2.3M raisedGoogle Ventures
Series A2015$8M raisedIndex Ventures
Series EMid-2021$2.3B valuationUndisclosed round size
Series FMay 25, 2022$150M raised at $2.85B valuationInsight Partners, Kleiner Perkins
S-1 filed (NYSE: MTVE)Dec 23, 2025$501M ARR disclosedJPMorgan, Citi, Barclays, Jefferies (underwriters)
Customer Value Fund financingSept 9, 2026$1.3B+ raised; no new valuationGeneral Catalyst

Sourced from Cooley LLP deal coverage, Bloomberg, FreightWaves, SEC.gov (Motive S-1), and TechFundingNews, 2013-2026. Motive's total funding raised across its 2013-2022 venture rounds was reported at roughly $567 million as of the May 2022 Series F, per FreightWaves โ€” a figure that predates the 2026 Customer Value Fund financing and is not additive to it since the two are structurally different types of capital.

Motive vs Samsara: the public comparable

Samsara is the closest public comparable to Motive โ€” both sell AI-powered telematics, driver-safety, and physical-operations software bundled with hardware, and both crossed roughly $500 million in ARR near the time of their own IPO filings. Samsara went public in December 2021 and trades on the NYSE under the ticker IOT, with a market capitalization around $22.6 billion and trailing-twelve-month revenue of roughly $1.85 billion as of early September 2026, up about 29.5% year-over-year.

The gap that stands out is growth rate at comparable scale: Samsara's ARR was growing roughly 76% year-over-year around its October 2021 IPO filing, more than double the 27% year-over-year growth Motive disclosed in its December 2025 S-1, according to comparisons by Tomasz Tunguz. Motive's large-account growth (customers spending more than $100,000 a year, up 58% year-over-year) actually outpaced Samsara's 48% growth in that same cohort at IPO, and Motive's overall ARR growth has since reaccelerated to about 30% by September 2026 โ€” narrowing, though not closing, the growth gap with its most direct public peer.

Motive vs Samsara at ~$500M ARR Scale

YoY growth at ~$500M ARR scale
Motive (S-1, Sept 2025)
27%
Samsara (IPO, Oct 2021)
76%
$100K+ customer growth, YoY
Motive
58%
Samsara (at IPO)
48%
Gross margin
Motive
70%
Samsara (2026)
78%

Motive S-1 (SEC.gov, Dec 2025); Samsara S-1 and Q3 FY2022 metrics via Tomasz Tunguz analysis; stock data aggregators for Samsara's Sept 2026 market cap and TTM revenue.

Motive's large-account growth beat Samsara's at a comparable ARR scale, but its overall top-line growth rate at S-1 filing was roughly a third of Samsara's at IPO.

What Motive actually sells

Motive markets itself as an "Integrated Operations Platform" rather than a single-product telematics vendor, bundling four categories: Driver Safety, Fleet Management, Spend Management, and Equipment Monitoring, unified under an AI layer the company calls AI Omnivision, according to Trucking Info. The Driver Safety product uses AI models trained to flag specific unsafe behaviors in real time โ€” drowsiness, lane swerving, forward-collision risk, sideswipe events, blind-spot violations, and unsafe parking โ€” feeding video and sensor data back to fleet safety teams rather than just logging hours of service, which was the company's original 2013-era ELD business as KeepTruckin.

Spend Management extends the platform into card and fuel-purchase controls, and Equipment Monitoring tracks non-vehicle assets like trailers, generators, and heavy machinery โ€” the parts of the business that let Motive court construction and utility customers, not just long-haul trucking fleets. That product breadth is also the company's answer to the "physical operations" category Motive uses to describe its market, a framing that positions it against Samsara's own Connected Operations Cloud rather than against narrower point solutions.

The fleet-management market Motive is chasing

The fleet telematics market Motive and Samsara both compete in was valued at $10.42 billion in 2025 and is projected to reach $21.95 billion by 2032, a roughly 11.2% compound annual growth rate, according to MarketsandMarkets. Motive's pitch has broadened well beyond that telematics core into what it calls an "AI platform for physical operations" โ€” spend management, equipment monitoring, and driver-safety AI sold as a bundle to the same construction, trucking, field-service, and utility customers, rather than a single-product telematics box.

That broader framing is also a competitive answer to Samsara, which built a multi-billion-dollar public company on largely the same expansion strategy โ€” starting with vehicle tracking and layering on safety, compliance, and equipment software. With Motive now staying private and well-capitalized rather than facing quarterly public scrutiny, it can keep expanding that product surface without the growth-rate comparisons to Samsara showing up in a stock price every quarter.

Motive and Samsara are not the only names in this category โ€” Verizon Connect, Geotab, and Trimble all sell competing fleet telematics products, and construction- and equipment-focused players compete for the non-vehicle-asset piece of Motive's platform. None of those competitors has disclosed 2026 ARR or growth figures comparable to what Motive and Samsara have published, which is one reason Samsara remains the most useful apples-to-apples benchmark for Motive's own numbers.

What the headline misses

Several qualifiers matter here that a "Motive raises $1.3B" headline can flatten. First, no new valuation was disclosed โ€” any report or chart implying Motive is now worth a specific 2026 figure is going beyond what General Catalyst, Motive, or any of the outlets covering the deal has confirmed; the only hard number on record is the stale $2.85 billion mark from May 2022. Second, this was structured as Customer Value Fund financing rather than a standard priced equity round, meaning it is not directly comparable to a Series G in terms of dilution or governance.

Third, withdrawing an S-1 can be read two ways. Motive and its backers frame it as strength โ€” a company well-capitalized enough to skip public-market scrutiny and reinvest instead. But an S-1 withdrawal, on its own, can also reflect a less favorable IPO window than the company hoped for when it filed in December 2025; Motive's 27% ARR growth in that filing was well below what growth investors have rewarded elsewhere in 2026, and a private mega-round sidesteps the question of how public markets would have priced that growth rate. Cerebras followed a similar sequence in 2025 โ€” withdrawing its IPO in October 2025 after raising $1.1 billion at an $8.1 billion valuation led by Fidelity, per CNBC โ€” before ultimately refiling and completing its IPO in 2026, which shows that a withdrawal is not necessarily permanent in either direction.

Fourth, Motive still ships hardware (ELDs, dash cameras, sensors) alongside its software, which caps gross margin at 70% versus Samsara's 78%, and its S-1 showed operating margins in the negative 20% range โ€” meaning the company remains a meaningful cash burner even as ARR scales past $600 million. None of that makes the $1.3 billion raise less real; it just means the "stayed private on its own terms" framing and the "IPO market wasn't ready" framing can both be partially true at once.

This likely means Motive's board and underwriters concluded that a 27%-growth SaaS-plus-hardware business would have been priced conservatively in the 2026 public market relative to the growth multiples AI-native software companies were commanding, and that a large private check was the better near-term trade than testing that thesis in front of public investors. That is an inference, not a confirmed fact โ€” Motive has not said this directly โ€” but it is consistent with the sequence of events: file the S-1 in December 2025, watch growth reaccelerate to 30% through 2026, then take private capital instead of pricing the offering.

What this means for investors watching the fleet-AI category

For growth investors and LPs, Motive's raise is a reminder that a filed S-1 is not a commitment โ€” companies can and do withdraw at any point before pricing, and a large enough private check can make that withdrawal painless from a cash perspective. Motive joins Cerebras as a 2025-2026 example of a company that filed, pulled back, and kept operating on private capital instead, though the two took different paths afterward: Cerebras eventually refiled and completed its IPO in 2026, while Motive's timeline for any future listing is unstated.

It is also a data point on how growth-stage financing has diversified beyond the traditional priced equity round. General Catalyst's Customer Value Fund structure, built around repayment tied to new-customer value rather than a fixed valuation, gave Motive access to over $1.3 billion without forcing a price discovery event that a Series G or an IPO would have required โ€” a structure worth watching alongside the rest of the 2026 IPO pipeline as more late-stage companies weigh public-market timing against private-capital alternatives.

Bottom line: Motive raised more than $1.3 billion from General Catalyst on September 9, 2026 and withdrew its NYSE-bound S-1 the same day, choosing to keep scaling as a private company past $600 million in ARR and roughly 30% year-over-year growth. What the deal did not do is set a new valuation โ€” Motive's last confirmed number is still the $2.85 billion mark from May 2022, and until the company either discloses a fresh figure or refiles for an IPO the way Cerebras eventually did, every 2026 valuation claim about Motive should be read as an estimate, not a fact.

Get VC data most people never see

โ€” 100% free

Weekly benchmarks, valuations, and fund data. Join 5,000+ investors. No spam.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much did Motive raise in its 2026 funding round?

Motive raised more than $1.3 billion from General Catalyst's Customer Value Fund, announced September 9, 2026. The financing came from General Catalyst's revenue-linked growth-capital vehicle rather than a traditional priced equity round, which is part of why Motive did not disclose a new company valuation alongside the announcement, according to FreightWaves and TechFundingNews.

Why did Motive withdraw its IPO?

Motive withdrew the S-1 it filed on December 23, 2025 for a proposed NYSE listing under the ticker MTVE on the same day it announced the $1.3 billion General Catalyst financing, per TechFundingNews and CryptoBriefing. The company said the capital lets it keep investing in AI and go-to-market teams as a private company rather than through public markets, though the timing also follows a period when several 2025-2026 tech listings faced a cooler reception than issuers hoped.

What is Motive's current valuation after the $1.3 billion raise?

Motive did not disclose a new valuation with the September 2026 financing. Its last publicly known valuation is $2.85 billion, set in May 2022 when it raised a $150 million Series F co-led by Insight Partners and Kleiner Perkins, per Bloomberg and FreightWaves. Any headline citing a specific 2026 valuation for Motive should be treated with caution unless it cites a primary source, since none was disclosed.

What was Motive's ARR when it filed for an IPO?

Motive's S-1, filed December 23, 2025, disclosed annual recurring revenue of $501 million as of September 30, 2025, growing 27% year-over-year, alongside $327.3 million in revenue for the nine months ended that date, up 22% year-over-year, and a 70% gross margin, according to the filing on SEC.gov.

How does Motive compare to Samsara?

Motive and Samsara both build fleet and physical-operations software, but Samsara is public (NYSE: IOT) with a market capitalization around $22.6 billion and trailing-twelve-month revenue near $1.85 billion as of September 2026, per stock data aggregators. At the roughly $500 million ARR mark both companies passed near their own IPO filings, Samsara was growing faster (about 76% year-over-year at its 2021 IPO) than Motive was at its December 2025 filing (27% year-over-year).

Companies & investors in this article

Explore 45+ free VC tools, dashboards, and recommended startup software.

Get VC data most people never see

Weekly benchmarks & analysis. Join 5,000+ investors.