VC & InvestingOctober 13, 2026ยท7 min readยท

How Does Crunchbase Make Money? Subscriptions, Data Licensing, and the Business Model Behind It

Crunchbase doesn't disclose revenue, but its pricing tiers, data-licensing business, and 19-year history show where the money actually comes from.

VC
Editor-in-chief: Trace Cohen โ€” Angel investor, VC, family office, operator and founder ยท 3x founder (BrandYourself, Launch.it, SPOT) ยท 65+ investments

AI-assisted: drafted with AI from the cited sources โ€” how we check it

65+Investments3xFounder$200M+Funds Tracked

Quick Answer

Crunchbase makes money from Pro and Business subscriptions priced at $49 to $199-plus a month, custom-priced data licensing and API access for third-party products, and contact-credit add-ons โ€” a shift from the advertising-funded model it ran before spinning out of AOL in September 2015.

Crunchbase makes money from Pro and Business subscriptions priced at $49 to $199-plus a month, plus custom-priced data licensing and API access โ€” not the advertising model it ran before spinning out of AOL in September 2015, according to TechCrunch's reporting on the spinout.

How does Crunchbase make money: pricing tiers and funding history
$49-$99/mo
Pro tier
~$199+/mo
Business tier
~$106.5M
Disclosed funding
Not disclosed
Disclosed revenue

Source: ZoomInfo pricing breakdown and TechCrunch funding reporting, 2026.

How Does Crunchbase Make Money? The Pricing Tiers

Crunchbase's revenue comes from three lines: subscriptions, data licensing/API access, and add-on contact credits. Crunchbase's own pricing page wasn't accessible for this piece, so the figures below are drawn from a 2026 ZoomInfo pricing breakdown of Crunchbase's published rates โ€” treat them as third-party reporting on Crunchbase's rates, not Crunchbase's own disclosure, and confirm current prices on Crunchbase's site before budgeting.

The free tier caps users at roughly 11 profile views a month with no advanced search, predictive insights, or CRM integrations. Crunchbase Pro โ€” the main paid consumer tier โ€” runs $49/month billed annually or $99/month billed monthly, and includes search across 4 million-plus private companies, AI-generated company summaries, "heat score" predictions, and up to 2,000 data-export rows and 10 contact unlocks a month. Business, Crunchbase's higher tier aimed at sales and research teams, starts around $199/month with a full quote requiring a sales conversation, and adds predictive signals for funding events, growth, acquisitions, IPOs, and layoffs, plus Salesforce and HubSpot integrations and 5,000 export rows a month.

Data Licensing and the API Business

Beyond subscriptions, Crunchbase licenses its dataset for programmatic access and bulk embedding into third-party products โ€” pricing is customized per deal and isn't publicly posted. Users who want direct phone numbers or email addresses on top of any base plan pay separately for contact-credit add-ons, priced at $29 to $99 a month depending on volume.

This licensing layer is also how Crunchbase's data reaches other platforms: Perplexity added Crunchbase as one of its first Select Channel Partner Program data integrators in late 2024, giving Enterprise Pro subscribers with a Crunchbase subscription access to Crunchbase data inside Perplexity directly โ€” though Crunchbase's own support documentation describes this as a connector a user sets up with their existing subscription, not a separate data-licensing contract between the two companies.

TierPriceExport limitContact unlocksKey features
Free$0NoneNot specified~11 profile views/month, no advanced search
Pro (billed annually)$49/month2,000 rows/month10/month4M+ company search, AI summaries, heat scores
Pro (billed monthly)$99/month2,000 rows/month10/monthSame as annual Pro, no annual commitment
Business~$199+/month5,000 rows/monthNot specifiedFunding/IPO/layoff predictions, Salesforce/HubSpot sync
API / Data LicensingCustom quoteNot statedNot statedBulk licensing for embedding Crunchbase data
Contact credit add-ons$29-$99/monthN/ACredit-basedDirect phone numbers and email addresses

How we counted: Crunchbase's 6 publicly listed pricing tiers and add-ons; rates as published and compiled by ZoomInfo; checked October 13, 2026. Source: ZoomInfo's Crunchbase pricing breakdown.

From TechCrunch Side Project to Independent Company

Crunchbase started in 2007 as a database tracking the startups TechCrunch covered, and AOL acquired it in 2010 as part of its TechCrunch acquisition. In its early years, Crunchbase made money primarily from advertising on its own site โ€” a model it moved away from after becoming independent.

On September 22, 2015, AOL and Verizon completed a spinout of Crunchbase as its own company, with Emergence Capital investing a reported $5 million to $7 million and taking the controlling stake; AOL/Verizon retained a minority stake. Jager McConnell, previously VP of product at Salesforce, became the new company's leader, and the business shifted toward paid premium products โ€” Crunchbase Pro launched the following year, in 2016.

Crunchbase raised an $18 million Series B in April 2017 led by Mayfield, a $30 million Series C in October 2019 led by OMERS Ventures, and a $50 million Series D in July 2022 led by Alignment Growth with Mayfield, OMERS Ventures, and Emergence Capital participating โ€” an oversubscribed round that brought disclosed funding to roughly $106.5 million and that CEO Jager McConnell called a "significant up round," per TechCrunch's reporting on the Series D. Part of the proceeds went toward growing headcount from 220 to roughly 275 people by the end of 2022.

What the headline misses

Crunchbase has never disclosed revenue, ARR, or a current valuation, so every dollar figure in this piece describes what it charges or has raised โ€” not what it actually collects. Third-party revenue estimates for Crunchbase vary widely and aren't independently confirmed, which is exactly why this piece treats revenue as not disclosed rather than picking one of those estimates.

Crunchbase also confirmed a data breach on January 26, 2026, after the hacking group ShinyHunters claimed to have taken more than 2 million records and leaked a roughly 402MB archive following a failed extortion attempt, according to SecurityAffairs' reporting. Crunchbase said no business operations were disrupted and that it notified federal law enforcement โ€” but for a company whose core product is a database of sensitive company and funding data, a confirmed breach is a real trust risk for both free and paying users, independent of how the pricing tiers above are structured.

Crunchbase also competes with other large databases built from VC and funding data โ€” Value Add VC's own funding tracker and ongoing Crunchbase coverage track overlapping ground, and several free or lower-cost alternatives have emerged specifically to compete on price against Crunchbase's paid tiers.

The bottom line:

Crunchbase makes money from Pro and Business subscriptions ($49-$199+/month), custom-priced data licensing and API access, and contact-credit add-ons โ€” not advertising, and not a disclosed revenue number.

Compare Crunchbase to free and lower-cost VC database alternatives, see how it stacks up against Value Add VC's own data, and read more analysis at Value Add VC.

Get VC data most people never see

โ€” free to subscribe

Trace's notes on venture, AI and startups, a few times a week. Join 5,000+ subscribers. No spam.

No spam, unsubscribe anytime. Sent via Substack ยท Privacy ยท or subscribe on Substack โ†—

Frequently Asked Questions

How does Crunchbase make money?

Crunchbase sells tiered subscriptions (a free account, Pro at $49-$99/month, and Business starting around $199/month), custom-priced data licensing and API access for embedding its data into third-party products, and contact-credit add-ons at $29-$99/month, according to a ZoomInfo pricing breakdown. It no longer relies on advertising, which funded the site before it became an independent company.

How much does Crunchbase Pro cost?

Crunchbase Pro is listed at $49/month billed annually ($588/year) or $99/month billed monthly, including access to its 4M+ private-company search index, AI-generated company summaries, and up to 2,000 data-export rows per month, per a ZoomInfo pricing analysis published in 2026.

How much revenue does Crunchbase generate?

Crunchbase doesn't publicly disclose revenue. Third-party estimates range widely and aren't confirmed by the company, so its actual revenue is not disclosed.

Who owns Crunchbase and how much funding has it raised?

Crunchbase is an independent, venture-backed private company. It spun out of AOL and Verizon in September 2015 with roughly $5-7 million from Emergence Capital, then raised an $18 million Series B in 2017 (led by Mayfield), a $30 million Series C in 2019 (led by OMERS Ventures), and a $50 million Series D in July 2022 led by Alignment Growth โ€” bringing disclosed funding to about $106.5 million, according to TechCrunch's reporting on the 2022 round.

Was Crunchbase hacked?

Yes. Crunchbase confirmed a data breach on January 26, 2026, after the group ShinyHunters claimed to have exfiltrated more than 2 million records and leaked a roughly 402MB archive following a failed extortion attempt. Crunchbase said no business operations were disrupted and that it notified federal law enforcement, per SecurityAffairs' reporting.

Related Tools & Dashboards

Explore 45+ free VC tools, dashboards, and recommended startup software.