AI & TechnologyJuly 27, 2026·10 min read··Last updated: 2026-08-20

SSI Valuation 2026: Safe Superintelligence at $32B With $8B Raised and Nothing Shipped

Safe Superintelligence is still marked at $32B after Nvidia's $5B check took total funding to $8B. Here's the full round-by-round math and what a first model release would change.

TC
Trace Cohen
Founder, Value Add Holdings LLC · 3x founder (BrandYourself, Launch.it, SPOT) · 65+ investments · Based in Boca Raton, FL
65+Investments3xFounder$200M+Funds Tracked

Quick Answer

$32 billion is Safe Superintelligence's valuation as of August 20, 2026, unchanged since April 2025 even after Nvidia's $5 billion July investment pushed total funding to roughly $8 billion. The Palo Alto lab still reports zero revenue, has shipped no product, and employs roughly 50 people.

$32 billion is what Safe Superintelligence is worth on paper in August 2026 — the same number investors set in April 2025, now backed by $8 billion of cash raised, zero revenue, zero shipped products, and roughly 50 employees.

Two things have changed for Ilya Sutskever's lab since the spring. Nvidia wired $5 billion on July 27, 2026 alongside a long-term compute agreement, taking SSI's lifetime funding from $3 billion to roughly $8 billion in a single transaction. And in early August, a public-markets investor with no obvious reason to leak said on a podcast that SSI intends to release its first model this month. SSI has said nothing about either the model or a date. That combination — an enormous new check and a rumored first shipment — makes the next few weeks the first real test the $32 billion mark has ever faced.

$32B
Flat since Apr 2025
Valuation (Aug 2026)
~$8B
+167% after Nvidia
Total raised
$0
Disclosed revenue
~50
Employees
SSI valuation 2026: $32B mark, $8B raised, and still nothing shipped

SSI Valuation in August 2026: What the $32 Billion Mark Actually Rests On

SSI's $32 billion valuation was set by a $2 billion round in April 2025 led by Greenoaks Capital, and it is still the reference price 16 months later. Nvidia's $5 billion July 2026 check was reported at or near that same mark rather than as an up-round. Nothing underneath it has been priced by revenue, users, or a shipped model.

What holds the number up is a syndicate, not a P&L. Sequoia Capital, Andreessen Horowitz, DST Global, and SV Angel funded the September 2024 seed; Greenoaks led in April 2025 with Alphabet and Nvidia joining as strategic investors, per CTech. Sutskever incorporated the company on June 19, 2024 with Daniel Gross and Daniel Levy after leaving OpenAI, where he had been co-founder and chief scientist. Gross left for Meta's superintelligence group in July 2025, leaving Sutskever as CEO and Levy as president across offices in Palo Alto, California and Tel Aviv, Israel.

The Funding Timeline: $1B Seed to $8B Raised in 26 Months

Three rounds, 26 months, and a 6.4x markup that happened entirely in the first seven months. The September 2024 seed was already unusual — $1 billion into a company with no disclosed roadmap — and the April 2025 round multiplied that price by more than six before anyone outside the building had seen an output. Then the price stopped moving, and the money kept arriving anyway.

EventDateAmountValuationLead / key investors
IncorporatedJun 19, 2024——Sutskever, Gross, Levy
SeedSep 2024$1B$5BSequoia, a16z, DST Global, SV Angel
Round 2Apr 2025$2B$32BGreenoaks; Alphabet, Nvidia join
Google Cloud TPU dealApr 2025Not disclosed—Google Cloud (compute supply)
Nvidia strategic roundJul 27, 2026$5B~$32BNvidia (+ Vera Rubin supply deal)
Secondary indicationAug 1, 20267 live orders$94.19 / shareHiive (broker-estimated)
Cumulative to dateAug 20, 2026~$8B$32B7+ institutional backers

Sources: CTech on the April 2025 round; Bloomberg and Crunchbase News on the $5 billion Nvidia round; TechCrunch on the Google Cloud agreement; Hiive for the secondary indication as of August 1, 2026. Secondary quotes are broker indications on an unaudited private company, not transacted prices.

What Nvidia Actually Bought for $5 Billion

The July 27, 2026 deal was announced as a long-term strategic partnership, not a straight financing. Nvidia's money came paired with a multi-year supply commitment giving SSI access to the Vera Rubin platform — an arrangement SSI said would expand its compute by an order of magnitude, according to SiliconANGLE. The practical effect was a supplier switch: SSI had been training on Google Cloud TPUs under the April 2025 arrangement, and the Nvidia agreement pulls that workload onto Nvidia silicon.

Sutskever framed it as a readiness signal rather than a rescue, and it is the closest thing to a progress report SSI has issued:

“We have research that is worthy of scaling up, and having access to a big NVIDIA computer will let us do so.”

— Ilya Sutskever, in the Nvidia–SSI partnership announcement, July 27, 2026

The check is large in absolute terms but small against Nvidia's 2026 pace. The Santa Clara chipmaker committed more than $40 billion of equity across AI and infrastructure companies in the first five months of the year alone, CNBC reported on May 9, 2026, including a roughly $30 billion stake in OpenAI. Read against that, the SSI investment is a small option premium on a research approach Nvidia otherwise has no window into — and one that keeps a rival's TPUs out of a marquee lab. That reading is analysis, not something Nvidia has stated.

The Cap Table Math Nobody Has Disclosed

“At or near the $32 billion mark” is doing a lot of work in the coverage of Nvidia's round, because two very different deals fit that description. If $32 billion was the pre-money, the post-money is $37 billion and Nvidia bought about 13.5% of the company. If $32 billion was the post-money — the way the April 2025 figure was quoted — Nvidia bought roughly 15.6%, and every prior holder was diluted by more than twice what the April 2025 round cost them. No filing has settled which it was, and SSI is a Delaware private company with no obligation to say.

Either version puts a chip vendor on the register of a lab that competes with three other Nvidia portfolio companies for the same researchers. The earlier rounds are cleaner arithmetic: $1 billion at a $5 billion post-money in September 2024 sold about 20% of the company, and $2 billion at $32 billion in April 2025 sold about 6.25%. Compound the three rounds in sequence and outside investors end up somewhere near 37% of the company, which would leave Sutskever, Levy, and early employees with the controlling economic block after three financings. That matters more than the headline price, because it means no investor group can force a sale, a pivot, or a commercial roadmap. It is also an inference drawn from round sizes rather than a disclosed ownership table — SSI has never published one, and option pools and secondary sales would move the figure.

The Reported August Model Release, and Why It Matters More Than the Price

Gavin Baker, chief investment officer at Atreides Management, said on Patrick O'Shaughnessy's Invest Like the Best podcast in early August 2026 that SSI intends to put out its first model during the month. That is a secondhand claim from an investor, not a company announcement: SSI has issued no statement, named no date, and published no model card. As of August 20, 2026, nothing has appeared in any public model catalog.

If it does land, it would be SSI's first externally checkable artifact of any kind. The lab has published no research papers, released no weights, run no demos, and maintains a website that is essentially a name and a hiring link — a record MoneyWise summarized as never having published a word of research. The bet investors made was on a thesis Sutskever laid out on Dwarkesh Patel's podcast on November 25, 2025: that the 2020–2025 “age of scaling” is finished and progress now depends on new research ideas rather than larger clusters. A first release is the first chance anyone outside the cap table gets to grade that thesis.

One read on the sequencing: taking Nvidia's compute in late July and shipping in August would suggest the model was already trained and the Vera Rubin capacity is for whatever comes next, not for the thing about to be released. SSI has confirmed no such ordering.

How SSI's Mark Compares to Other Pre-Revenue AI Labs

Two labs of similar vintage are the fairest comparison, and SSI is the outlier in both directions — highest price, least evidence. Mira Murati's Thinking Machines Lab raised $2 billion in July 2025 at a $12 billion post-money and has not printed a new primary round since; Forge quoted its secondary shares at $318.92 on August 17, 2026, marking the company near $13.5 billion. Fei-Fei Li's World Labs closed $1 billion on February 18, 2026 — $200 million of it from Autodesk, with AMD, Fidelity, Emerson Collective, and Nvidia alongside — after Bloomberg reported talks near $5 billion in January. Both have shipped: Thinking Machines put out its Tinker fine-tuning API in October 2025, and World Labs ships its Marble spatial product.

Pre-Revenue AI Research Labs: Valuation and Capital Raised

Latest valuation ($B)
Safe Superintelligence
$32B
Thinking Machines Lab
~$13.5B
World Labs
~$5B
Total capital raised ($B)
Safe Superintelligence
$8B
Thinking Machines Lab
$2B
World Labs
$1.23B

Forge, TechCrunch, Bloomberg, and CTech reporting on SSI, Thinking Machines Lab, and World Labs, as of August 20, 2026.

SSI carries 2.4x the valuation of Thinking Machines Lab and roughly six times that of World Labs, and is the only one of the three with no shipped product. Thinking Machines' figure is a secondary-market mark, not a priced round.

What the headline misses

“$32 billion, no revenue” is the easy shot, and it understates how deliberate the structure is. SSI never promised interim products, so measuring it on shipped features is measuring it against a plan it explicitly rejected. Nor is there a near-term burn problem: a two-digit headcount against $8 billion of cash implies years of runway on any plausible assumption about frontier compute costs, and the Nvidia agreement converts a large slice of that spend into contracted capacity rather than spot GPU rental.

The genuine risk is subtler than “they haven't shipped.” It is that a flat price for 16 months is itself information. Its two closest peers have both been remarked since their last priced rounds, upward on secondary demand in one case and through a fresh financing in the other; SSI has been remarked by nothing, because there is nothing to mark against. Anthropic's annualized run rate passed $65 billion in late July 2026, with second-quarter revenue above $11.5 billion against $787 million a year earlier — numbers an LP can argue about. SSI offers no such surface. If the first model lands and is merely competitive rather than discontinuous, the $32 billion mark loses the one thing that has been protecting it, which is the absence of evidence either way.

What Would Reprice SSI From Here

Three events would move the number. The first is the release itself and, more importantly, whether SSI publishes methodology alongside it — a model with no accompanying account of how its safety properties were achieved leaves the original thesis exactly as unfalsifiable as it was before. The second is a priced round: any new equity above $32 billion would confirm that the flat mark was patience rather than doubt, and anything below it would be the first public admission that the April 2025 price overshot. The third is a change in the operating model — a hiring surge, a commercial team, or a published product roadmap would each signal that the “one goal, one product” approach needed adjusting under competitive pressure.

Watch the secondary market for the earliest signal. Broker indications on private AI names tend to move before primary rounds do, and SSI now has enough shareholders across three financings that transfer requests should start producing a deeper order book than the one Hiive was showing at the start of August.

The Bottom Line

SSI enters late August 2026 with $8 billion in the bank, a valuation that has not moved since April 2025, and a first model that an outside investor says is imminent while the company says nothing. The Nvidia deal solved compute and the funding solved runway; neither solved the underwriting problem, which is that no one outside Palo Alto and Tel Aviv has seen the work. Whether $32 billion turns out to be cheap or absurd is a question a release — not another round — will finally start to answer.

Track private AI valuations across the market on the AI Valuations dashboard and broader private-market comps on the Unicorn Tracker at Value Add VC.

Get VC data most people never see

— 100% free

Weekly benchmarks, valuations, and fund data. Join 5,000+ investors. No spam.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SSI's valuation in 2026?

Safe Superintelligence is valued at $32 billion post-money, the mark set by Greenoaks Capital's $2 billion round in April 2025 and still the reference price as of August 20, 2026. Nvidia's $5 billion strategic investment on July 27, 2026 was reported as structured at or near that same mark rather than as a fresh up-round, so the headline number has now held flat for roughly 16 months.

How much has Safe Superintelligence raised in total?

Roughly $8 billion across three rounds since the company was incorporated on June 19, 2024: $1 billion at a $5 billion valuation in September 2024, $2 billion at $32 billion in April 2025, and Nvidia's $5 billion in July 2026. Backers across those rounds include Sequoia Capital, Andreessen Horowitz, DST Global, SV Angel, Greenoaks Capital, Alphabet, and Nvidia.

Has SSI released a model yet?

No. As of August 20, 2026 SSI has published no research papers, released no model weights, shipped no API, and staged no public demo. Gavin Baker, chief investment officer at Atreides Management, said on the Invest Like the Best podcast in early August 2026 that SSI was targeting a first model release during the month, but SSI itself has confirmed neither the model nor a date.

What did Nvidia get for its $5 billion investment in SSI?

Nvidia's July 27, 2026 investment came bundled with a long-term supply agreement giving SSI access to the Vera Rubin platform, which SSI said would expand its compute by an order of magnitude. It also moved SSI's training workloads toward Nvidia GPUs and away from the Google Cloud TPUs it had leaned on since an April 2025 cloud deal.

How many employees does Safe Superintelligence have?

Public reporting in mid-2026 puts SSI at roughly 50 people, with lower counts in the 20s appearing in earlier coverage; the company does not disclose headcount. At 50 employees, a $32 billion mark implies about $640 million of valuation per person, which is well above the per-head ratio at any of its frontier-lab peers.

Can you buy SSI stock on the secondary market?

Indicatively, yes, though liquidity is thin. Hiive listed an estimated price of $94.19 per share for Safe Superintelligence with seven live orders as of August 1, 2026, and SSI also appears on Forge and UpMarket. Those are broker-indicated marks on a company with no audited financials, not a clearing price, and transfer restrictions typically require company consent.

Companies & investors in this article

Explore 45+ free VC tools, dashboards, and recommended startup software.

Get VC data most people never see

Weekly benchmarks & analysis. Join 5,000+ investors.